04 Apr

Evaluating recommended reforms for inclusive transformation in agriculture

ICED is undertaking a retrospective policy evaluation as part of the Gates Foundation’s Evaluating Inclusive Transformation in Agriculture (EVITA) framework to understand when, how, and why some policy reforms are successfully implemented.

The policy reforms are influenced by economic analysis by MAFAP and MIRA programs, supported in part by the ECS team in BMGF. Given that the progress of both investments was well documented, the scope of this evaluation is not to assess their performance, rather the evaluation seeks to understand the extent to which governments and their partners have implemented policies post adoption.

The target users for the evaluation include EVITA, Ag Dev program officers, MAFAP, MIRA, national governments, and other stakeholders. Evidence from the evaluation will be used to generate learning about what works and what does not in policy implementation to inform future strategy, planning and implementation. It is this understanding of the TORs, objectives and intended use of the evaluation findings that has shaped our proposed approach to the evaluation.

Our Role :

ICED is undertaking a retrospective policy evaluation of recommended reforms to understand the extend to which African governments and their partners initiated, resourced, and sustained the implementation of specific policy and public investments, post adoption. The results of the Evaluation will inform the way BMGF develops its future policy strategy and program decisions.

Our Approach :

ICED will focus on two investments that supported governments in identifying, analyzing, and recommending potential policy reforms.

  • Micro Reforms for African Agribusiness (MIRA)
  • Monitoring and Analyzing Food and Agricultural Policies (MAFAP)

This evaluation does not seek to assess the performance of MAFAP or MIRA but to examine to what extent adopted reforms have been implemented by governments and their partners.

Team Members :

Dr. David Ameyaw, Sarah Amezo, Edem Tornyie, Prof. Takyiwaa Menuh, Prof. Robert Osei, Desmond Kaledzi, Fadilatu Sagri Adams